Food · Nigerian blogger · Nigerian life · Uncategorized

My unpopular food opinions

Hello beautiful people, it’s been such a long time. This blogpost has been sitting in my drafts for the longest time, I decided to share it today. Enjoy.

For a while now, I realized that I have uncommon or unpopular food opinions. I’m not one of those picky eaters, I can eat pretty much anything but that doesn’t mean I like it. I want to share some of my opinions about certain popular and well-liked foods. 

Disclaimer: This is an opinionated piece. I might express strong opinions about something you love but at the end we’re still friends🙇.

1. Mangoes are 😷, I don’t know the adjective to qualify mangoes. Let me just say, I don’t know how people enjoy mangoes. They taste TERRIBLE. I’ve eaten different species of mango but I still don’t like it.

2. Turkey >>> Chicken. Yes, you read that right. I don’t like chicken at all especially when it is boiled. I prefer turkey, fish, beef, even goat meat.

3. Strawberries have a terrible taste. I don’t know how something that looks so beautiful with a lovely smell can taste so sour.

4. Doughnuts taste like struggle. For someone who loves puff puff, I cannot stand doughnuts. 

5. Cucumbers are a form of torture. That’s all. No further explanation required.
6. I don’t understand okra soup. The only okra soup I like is the one cooked plain, and eaten with stew. I don’t like all those okra soups with serenren; e.g. ila asepo, seafood okra etc.

7. Pounded yam is overrated. Yes, I said it😑

8. You know native jollof rice, that one cooked with palm oil, the taste is terrible. I don’t like it AT all.

9. Plantain is overrated. Especially fried plantain (dodo). Yes, I said it.

10. Bananas and cashews are on my worst fruits of all time list.

11. Chocolate is 😷. Yes, I said it. I don’t like anything chocolate flavoured (Except chocolate chip cookies).

12. Milk drinks are HORRIBLE. If you’re Nigerian, you should know the Viju and Nutrimilk brands. Till now, I don’t know how people manage to drink them.

13. Apple drinks taste like suffering. I can’t stand them. I like apples though, it’s just apple flavoured drinks that I can’t tolerate.

Again, these are my opinions(albeit strongly expressed) and I realize that others might feel differently about some of the things I mentioned. 
I’d love to hear from you in the comments. Do we share some opinions? Which of them do you disagree with? 

17 thoughts on “My unpopular food opinions

  1. Hey girl! It was very funny to know what kind of things you don’t like to eat. It is the first time that I read that somebody doesn’t like chicken. I would like to read what you do like to eat. 😀😀😀
    It so nice to see how everybody is different and like different things. I don’t like salmon, anjovis. **ugh**
    or blue cheese.
    ThnQ So much for sharing! It always great to know more facts about you.
    Have a great day, Girl!
    Miss B.💋

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey Girl!
    It was a funny and surprising post. I had to look twice when you shared that you don’t like chicken. Girl I Loved the post. After all we are different and So it’s normal that we all have certains things that we just don’t like to eat. Let’s see uhmm I don’t like Salmon, Anjovis or Blue cheese. **Ugh** . Lol! What are the things that you do like? I’m curious.
    🌹Have A Great Day!🌹
    Hugz and Kisses,
    Miss B.💋

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lol…strong opinions indeed. I don’t like the okra drama too. Doughnuts are cold sweet solids snacks… I just don’t understand it sometimes…and then some ppl sprinkle sugar on it again. If it were as soft as puff puff then I will devour it. The milk drinks tooo…..well I recently started to love a particular brand of soymilk.
    Lovely post

    Liked by 1 person

  4. See ehn you read my mind on Pt 6, 7, 9, 11 esp fried plantain…its tooooo overrated. However i love palm oil rice o and I’ll take anything as long as its not sea food (excluding snails). lovely post still!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. *shocked face* These are some of the things you don’t like? That’s suspect behaviour. But I can’t stand milk drinks as well. I don’t know how people eat rice and drink hollandia. I’ve never been able to understand it.

    Like

  6. Hiii. It’s my first time on your blog and it’s really beautiful, well done. I hate mangoes too. If I go ahead to list all the other foods I do not like, I’m afraid you might ban me from your blog, so *lips sealed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

