Blog challenge · Nigerian blogger · Nigerian life · Reading · Uncategorized

31 day blog challenge – Earliest Childhood Memory

Hmmm, this is a tough one. I remember a lot of things from my childhood but I honestly don’t remember which of them is the earliest. I’ll just write a bunch of things I remember.

I remember I loved watching Tom and Jerry. The other cartoons came much later; Teletubbies, Tweenies, Animaniacs, Pinky and the brain, Cow and chicken etc. (I was a lot older at this time but I still used to watch🤗). Plus, I still remember all the theme songs.

I remember sitting outside with my mother while she told me folktales which somehow involved a lot of singing. I still remember many of those songs. 

I remember my collection of books, I had so many books and as an only child for a long time, they were my constant companion. 

I remember my stash of rubbish, I commandeered a part of the house and stored so much rubbish there. I’d get very annoyed if anybody tried to touch it, even if they were just cleaning. Everybody called it Temi’s corner.

I remember the mini market I used set up with my friend who lived upstairs, Ireti (I wonder where she is now). I’d turn my plastic table upside down, and we would arrange building blocks by colour and take turns buying and selling. 

I remember going out for preaching regularly with my mother. I didn’t mind the distance, and I always looked forward to the snacks at the end😁. I used to love it so much then, I still do BTW.

I remember one time, at the end of the school term, I was at the 12th position in a class of about 30. I cried for hours, then my mother went to see my class teacher (she was teaching in the same school). He confided that I actually came 2nd but he had to exchange my result with someone else. Apparently, the boy’s mother came to plead with him and offer him money so her son will come 1st or 2nd. My mother was so angry, and later the teacher actually apologised to me. Though I was about 5/6, I remember this incident vividly. I think it was my first exposure to corruption. LOL.

There are so many more experiences, but I figured I’ll just stop here. 

It just occured to me that I should have tagged a couple of people to do this challenge with me, it escaped my mind 😩.

I’d really love to hear some of your childhood experiences too. Let’s reminisce together in the comments section. 

Thank you for reading💋

6 thoughts on “31 day blog challenge – Earliest Childhood Memory

  1. It was my birthday the next day and I was supposed to go swimming (one of my favorite things to do) and unfortunately I had caught apolo. My classmates told me to stare at the sun that’ll go before the next day but guess what it didn’t and I caught a fever too!

    Like

    1. Really? Stare at the Sun? I wonder where children get these ideas from😂😂. I can’t even imagine how you felt afterwards, it’s like jumping from frying pan to fire. Thanks for reading and commenting 🙇

      Like

Leave a Reply

