Beauty · Books · DIY · Goals · Hair care · LIFE · Makeup · Natural hair · Nigerian blogger · Nigerian life · Personal growth · Reading · Skincare · Uncategorized

My 2016 faves

Hello beautiful people, I wanted to do a “2016 in retrospect” post but I decided to change it up a bit, narrow it down to the things I loved last year. 

As for the unpleasant things, let’s just leave the past behind us, shall we? 

Here we go, my favourite:

Hair product: I have to say, Aussie moist 3 minute miracle, stuff works like a dream everytime. Especially on days when I have no time to dc, I just use this in the morning and Voila! It is done.

Tis a real miracle

Hairstyle: Crochet braids, hands down. I love the versatility and the fact that I can DIY. 2016 was the year of crochet no doubt, for me and so many others

Feeling myself in this DIY crochet

Makeup: Provoc eyeliner, I spoke about it here, it has helped my winged liner ministry, really. Another product is this gorgeous lip stain from beyond beauty. Just look at this gorgeous colour. It’s a bit streaky but I don’t even mind, I love it.

I don’t know about the 24 hours claim

Just look at that gorgeous colour

Skincare product: Johnson’s even complexion day cream, I loveet. It moisturizes my face nicely, it absorbs well into my skin, it’s not greasy and it works well for my oily face plus it has spf. Total winner.

Natural product: Has to be honey. It is very, very versatile and effective. I use it in face masks, face, body and lip scrubs, DIY deep conditioners etc.


Food: Coconut rice, I fell head over heels for coconut rice this year. Banga soup also gets a honorary mention, I found the processed versions in tins and it has changed the game.


Snack: Hellooo, puff puff is always bae.


Discovery: That it’s okay to embrace the things that make me different. Different doesn’t necessarily mean bad.

Book: Year of yes by Shonda Rhimes and The defining years by Meg Jay.


Blogpost:  Remember when I shared valuable lessons for twenty year olds? I love that blog post, I go through it sometimes to remind myself of lessons. 

Also, this post about reactions I’ve received to my natural hair.

Person: My mother is my all time fave. I continue to discover new dimensions to that woman all the time. 

This year I met very wonderful people, people that went out of their way to help me even when we were virtually strangers.


My blog fam, you guys remain my favourite all day, every day. Thanks for the likes and comments and words of encouragement, they mean so much to me.

You guys are the bestšŸ˜™


Blogthealaroro.com; the first time i saw this blog, it caught my eye because I love shopping and I am a confirmed, card-carrying alaroro.


Achievement: This blog is one of my main achievements this year. After a long time of dealing with self doubt and a lack of confidence, wondering how anybody could possibly be interested in what I had to say, I took the plunge. 

I must say, I’m incredibly happy with the results. I still deal with self doubt, but I’m gaining control.

I took active steps to boost my self confidence in 2016 and I’m seeing results. 

I made a conscious effort to be more assertive and speak up on the things that matter to me. It’s a journey in progress but I’m happy with the progress I’ve made so far.

Also, remember this list I made here? At the time of writing, I’ve read just 3 of those books. Now, I’ve read every single one of them. šŸ’ƒ


Quote: “You have to take opportunities and make an opportunity fit for you, rather than the other way around”- Lean in


Activity: Watching makeup and hair tutorials on YouTube. This is a major reason my makeup game improved this year. 

Another favourite activity is online window shopping (#talesofrecession)

Experience: I travelled to a farm settlement in Ijebu-Ode, for preaching activity. It was a rural settlement with no light, no water, no phone network and so on. 

But, I loved every moment of it. Really, it is one of the best things I’ve ever done. I’m seriously looking forward to doing it again.


This is a concise list of some 2016 favourites, I’m looking forward to doing this again next year.

Please like, comment and share.

Until next time, remain moisturized.

Leave a Reply

