Books · Goals · Reading · Uncategorized

My 2016 must read booklist

Hello beautiful people, how are y’all doing this lovely Friday? TGIF. I love Fridays, it’s like a magical day heralding the presence of the weekend.

I love books, I love reading them, looking at them and even smelling them. My dream house is equipped with a huge library filled with books. According to my mother, I started reading at the age of 3 and I haven’t slowed down since. My parents cultivated my love for reading by buying lots and lots of books.

My childhood was spent basking in the fantasy filled world of Enid Blyton and the fairytale classics. My reading tastes grew with my age and I moved to Mills and Boon, Pacesetters and African Writers series.

As I grew older however, I read more foreign books and less African authors.  I set a goal at the beginning of this year to read 10 books by African authors. I want to share my book list and give a progress report. Here goes:

Born on a Tuesday by Elnathan John: This book came out late last year, I have heard good things about it and from what I’ve seen, I love it already.

Born on a Tuesday
Source: Cassava Republic

Everything in Nigeria is going to kill you: I put this book on my list because of the title and I sincerely agree with it. I read it around February and I got it from Patabah bookshop.

ENGY
Source: Cassava Republic

The Palmwine Drinkard by Amos Tutuola: This book has managed to slip by me many times. I’ve made it a goal to read it this year. I haven’t gotten this yet but I’m working toward it.

We need new names by NoViolet Bulawayo: I cannot remember where I came across this author, but I added it to my list because I was fascinated by the title. Yup, I sometimes judge books by their covers (or titles)

One day I will write about this place by Ngugi wa thiongo.

The secret lives of Baba Segi’s wives by Lola Soneyin: A friend lent me this book a while ago, I read it and trust me, it’s hilarious. I still plan to buy it so it can remain in my library.

the secret lives of baba segi's wives
Source: amazon

Efuru by Flora Nwapa: This is a Nigerian classic that I have managed to miss so many times. I will try not to miss it this year.

A Buchi Emecheta novel: The one I read is called “The New Tribe.” It was a gift from my mother, she knows how much I love Emecheta so she got me this.

The new tribe

Daughters who walk this path by Yejide Kilanko: Again, the title. I feel like I would love this book based on the title alone.

So long a letter by Mariama Ba: My mother told me about this book, and I’ve made it a goal to read it this year.

Good list, right? Now guess how many I’ve read? 3. Just 3 out of 10.

This is one of my 2016 goals that isn’t going very well. In January, I made these grand plans feeling like a ninja, but the year is almost over and I still have 7 books left.

I need to visit a bookshop ASAP and fix up. I am just consoling myself with the other books I’ve read, I repeated some of my favorite books: Americanah (Chimamanda Adichie), The Concubine (Elechi Amadi) and The Thing around your neck (Chimamanda Adichie). Can you tell that I love Adichie? I’ve read an uncountable number of other books.

I really hope to complete that list before the year runs out. Do you like reading? What kind of books do you love to read? Do you have a list of books you want to read?

Please like, comment and share.

Until next time, toodles…

4 thoughts on “My 2016 must read booklist

Leave a Reply

